Special Election ballots due

Completed ballots for the May 21 Special Election should be mailed to the county as soon as possible

May 15, 2019 — Completed ballots for the May 21 Special Election should be mailed to the county as soon as possible, or dropped off directly, to assure they are included in the results of next Tuesday’s vote.

This month’s Special Election asks for voters to choose directors for Lane Community College (LCC), Lane Education Service District (LESD), the Mapleton School District and the Siuslaw School District Board of Directors, among other openings across the county.

Nora Kent and Mark Boren are competing for Director Position 4, in Zone 4, at LESD; Stefan Galen Strek and Lisa Fragala are each running for Director Position 7 at LCC.

There are also director positions to be filled at Siuslaw Valley Fire and Rescue, Western Lane Ambulance District and the Mapleton Fire District, although all candidates running for those openings are running unopposed. Additionally, there are a number of open positions on the Mapleton and Swisshome-Deadwood Fire District Boards.

The Port of Siuslaw has one contested race.

There is also Lane County Measure 20-299 for voters to consider. Measure 20-299 would ask approval for a $154 million levy for the purpose of building a new county courthouse. If approved, the levy would be combined with $98 million in additional state and federal funds to complete the project.

 On the May 21 Ballot:

Mapleton School District #32: Position 3- Mary Ellen Mansfield; Position 5- Michelle Holman

Siuslaw School District #97: Position 1- Guy S. Rosinbaum; Position 3- Robert Sneddon; Position 5- Dennis J. King; Position 7- Bill McDougle (incumbent) vs. Dianna Pimlott

Mapleton Fire District: Position 1- Ronnie J. Walker; Position 2- Guy Hansen; Position 3- Ann M. Miller

Siuslaw Valley Fire and Rescue: Position 3- Alan Burns; Position 4- James Palisi; Position 5- Sam Spayd

Swisshome Deadwood Rural Fire Prevention District: Position 1- Greg Lindsey; Position 2- Matt Grassauer; Position 3- Bill Londagin

Mapleton Water District: Position 3- Marilyn Fox; Position 4- Linda Jensen; Position 5- Dustin Basurto

Siuslaw Public Library District: Choose two: Jane Yecny, Renee LaCosse

Port of Siuslaw: Position 2- Craig Brandt (incumbent) vs. Frank Eisele; Position 4- Craig L. Zolezzi

Western Lane Ambulance District: Position 1- Cindy Russell; Position 2- John Murphey

Ballots can be dropped off at the Lane County Election Drop-off box at 900 Greenwood St., in front of the Florence Justice Center, any time between now and 8 p.m. on Election Night.


Video News