Siuslaw Hall of Fame class of 2018 to be inducted

Eight individuals and three teams will be honored at this Friday's induction ceremony

Aug. 8, 2018 — This Friday, eight individuals and three teams from Siuslaw’s athletic past will become part of the Siuslaw High School Hall of Fame’s hallowed halls  during the Class 2018 Induction Ceremony at the Florence Events Center.

Among those being inducted will be Jim Weber (1964), Dwight Chapman (1974), Kenon (Scanlan) Neal (1984), Stephanie (Vavich) Henderson (1989), John Condie (1991), Travis Knabe (1994), Diane Conlee (longtime cheerleading coach and teacher) and the late Dennis Howell (1964).

Teams being honored will include 1991 State Cheerleading Champions (Tracy (Weeks) Brown, Erica (Sanders) DeBois, Mary Girard-Anderson, Kim Murphy, Dawnielle Anderson, Lisa Patterson and Cari Maxwell; 1992 State Cheerleading Champions Tracy (Weeks) Brown, Emily (Harline) Head, Amy Summerfelt, Kim Murphy, Erica (Sanders) DeBois, Dawnielle Anderson and Shannon (Johnson) Vavich; and– 1993 State Cheerleading Champions Tanya (Church) Eckroth, Emily (Clark) Paramenter, Amy Durbin, Karen (Ellison) Parker, Kathy Grange, Julie Gray and Emily (Harline) Head).

Doors will open at 5:30 p.m., and tickets are still available for $25, which includes admission and a full dinner.

Tickets will be available at the door.

Criteria that is considered for inductees includes athletic accomplishment during and beyond high school; team success and achievement; contribution as a private citizen to Siuslaw High School athletics; or significant civic or academic achievement beyond high school that reflects well on Siuslaw High School.


Video News
More In Sports