SHS Hall-of-Famers to be inducted next week

Siuslaw High School will celebrate the induction of a new group of athletes to the school’s hallowed Hall of Fame during a special banquet and ceremony

July 31, 2019 — In a little over a week, Siuslaw High School will celebrate the induction of a new group of athletes to the school’s hallowed Hall of Fame during a special banquet and ceremony on Friday, Aug. 9, at the Florence Events Center.

Tickets for the dinner and induction ceremony are $25 per person and can be purchased at State Farm Insurance, 1275 Rhododendron Dr., Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Doors will open at 5:30 p.m.

Selection to the Hall of Fame is based on at least one of four criteria, including athletic accomplishment during and/or beyond high school; team success or achievement; contribution to the athletic program and its success as a private citizen; as an outstanding district employee; or academic achievement beyond high school.

For more information on the Siuslaw Hall of Fame or this year’s induction ceremony, visit the HOF Facebook page at /SiuslawHOF.

This year’s inductees:

• Girls 4x100-meter state champion relay teams for 1996 and 1997 were: Teola Wilkins, Kirsten Daniel, McKenzie McMullen and Alisa Worley.

• Both boys’ teams relay teams still hold school records. The state champion 4x100 relay team (1996) was Jeremy Long, Tristan Hartzell, David Richmond and Matt Pearson. The state champion 4x400 team (1997) was Jon Jensen, Matt Pearson, Aaron Long and David Richmond.

• Scott Parker (1983) was a standout on Siuslaw’s 1981 state 2A championship football team and according to some the best football player to come out of Siuslaw. Parker led the Viks in rushing that season, including 1,085 yards on 115 carries during league play, scoring 16 touchdowns and 102 points leading Siuslaw into the play-offs in 1981 — where they tied for the state 2A title with South Umpqua in a 0-0 stalemate.

• Andy Rodet (1992) won state titles in both the long jump (21-8.5) and triple jump (45-1) his senior year 1992.

• Bruce Plaep (1972) still holds the school record in the shot put (52-1) set in 1972, and once held the school’s discus record (154-6), which is still Siuslaw’s fourth-longest throw in school history. He was a three-sport athlete who also competed in football and basketball. 

• Raelyn Robinson (2011) won state titles in Cross Country and the 1500-meter race in track and field her junior year. She was also on three state championship cross country teams for Siuslaw.

In addition, she played basketball for four years, tearing her ACLS/MCL in her last game as a senior, causing her to miss her senior season of track and field — and the opportunity to break many of the records she already broke.

Robinson still holds the school record in the 1500 meters. At one time, she held the school record in the 800, 1500, 3000 and 5000 (Cross Country). She remains on Siuslaw’s top 10 list in the high jump and qualified for state in it.

• Caley Nordahl (2001) was a three-sport athlete who excelled volleyball, basketball and track. In track, Nordahl competed in four events at the state meet her senior year: the high jump, triple jump, 400 meters and as a member of the 4x400-meter relay team.

She graduated holding the school record in the triple jump (35-0), and still holds the second-best mark in the high jump (5-4), 400 meters (59.84) and is remains a member of the third-fastest 4x400 relay team (4:08.7)

Note: Ben Voogd, a 2005 graduate and all-state basketball player for the Vikings, had originally been slated to be inducted this year but asked to have his induction postponed because he is out of the country and wanted to be present.

Voogd will be inducted in 2020, along with Jesse Schutte, a 2006 grad who won three individual 3A state golf titles, who also requested to postpone his induction to next year due to scheduling conflicts.


Video News
More In Sports